Mentor Reflection

A mentor is a person or friend who guides a less experienced person by building trust and modeling positive behaviors. An effective mentor understands that his or her role is to be dependable, engaged, and tuned into the needs of the mentee. I want to model all of this and more to welcome my mentee in to college. I want to be like their brother they never had if they didn’t have a brother already. I want to be their best friend so that they can come to me with anything because they trust me and believe that I will point them in the right direction.

I am most looking forward to meeting a new person that might become my best friend that I have never met before in my life. My mentee and I have a lot in common, so I have a feeling we will have no problem getting along. I can’t wait to become a Sophomore and pass down my experiences to my mentee while also learning from my mentee’s experiences.

brad hunt

I have been preparing my whole life to become a mentor. The Leadership Advancement Scholarship picked 40 high school seniors that they knew were leaders in their community. These leaders grew up wanting to help better society every day for as long as they could walk and talk. Now being one of those 40 leaders and having an entire year of college experience I am even more ready to become a mentor. Not only did I learn about being a mentor this year through college experiences, but I have also learned about being a mentor from my family tree. They were so helpful in helping me transition into college from high school and I plan on helping my mentee do the same thing. I have learned how to manage time in between classes and how to get around campus. I want to help my mentee do same thing and even more so they can have the least stressful experience possible in college.

Leave a Reply

