Sigma Alpha Epsilon

Going into my sophomore year at Central I was starting to get the feel of college and what it all requires, but I felt like I was missing something still but I had no clue what that was. So one day in our philosophy class David Walter asked me what I was doing later that night. I proceeded to say I wasn’t doing anything, so he asked me if I wanted to go to an event. I thought about it for a minute or two and told him yeah why not. So later that night David came down to my room to come get me and we walked down to Main St. and I asked where we were going and he said you will see in a little bit. We kept walking down Main St. and after a block we came to the door of the Sigma Alpha Epsilon (SAE) house. They were having a recruitment event that night and I didn’t quite know how to fell about what I might have gotten myself into, but I went in a talked with a few of the guys there and they all made me feel like I belonged there and talked about the most random things. Once I got back my dorm I was very interested in joining SAE.

The next day I messaged the president of the fraternity asking about joining and he said that would be great and he would set up a meeting later that weekend. So before I knew it I was the new member of the Michigan Delta Omega Chapter of Sigma Alpha Epsilon. I never really thought of myself as joining a fraternity, but if I could go back I wouldn’t have changed it. Their morals are the exact morals I strive to live by every single day of my life. Our creed is something I have come to try and perfect in myself. Particularly whose deed follows his word; who thinks of the rights and feelings of others, rather than his own and who appears will in any company. For the last two years SAE has been a real life opening experience. I have meet guys that will become lifelong friends that I also get to call my brothers.

SAE softball

This past year has probably been the biggest up and down for me in the fraternity. We won the softball championship for softball, but lost in the first round of playoffs in flag football even though we were the number one seed. I had to say goodbye to the guys I hang out with the most in the fraternity due to them going alum. The hardest part about this past year is seeing my big, Jeremy Herman who I have come to be great friends with and actually feels like an older brother to me, go alum because he graduated from college. We have recruited two of the biggest classes SAE MI-DO has ever seen. With all of these experiences that has changed my life forever it is time to turn the next page and go alum at the end of the Spring 2016 semester.

Leave a Reply

